All Bengali vowels (except inherent [ɔ]) have two allographic forms. When a vowel sound is at the beginning of a syllable, or when it follows another vowel, it is written using the full (or independent) form of the vowel grapheme. But when a vowel follows a consonant or consonant cluster, it is written using a shortened diacritic (or dependent) form which, depending on the vowel, can appear above, below, before or after the consonant sign. The diacritic form of a vowel grapheme cannot appear without a consonant. Here the ten vowel diacritics are shown with the consonant [k]. The first letter, with no vowel diacritic, is pronounced [kɔ].